Catching Up—Ginger-Pumpkin-Molasses Bread, Perfect Coffee, and Homemade Almond Milk

2 Feb

Oops! It’s been over a month since I’ve written anything. Here are a few things I enjoyed in January:

I found this great recipe for Ginger-Molasses-Pumpkin Bread on Food52. Have you checked out Food52? It’s a food website and online community of home cooks where users share their best recipes. (One of the founders is Amanda Hesser, formerly of the New York Times.) It’s a pretty good site–user ratings and editor promotion make it so only the best recipes bubble up to the main pages. Anyway–this bread was a winner. I subbed 1.5 cups white whole wheat flour for the same amount of AP flour and added a spoonful of extra granulated sugar to the batter. I also reduced the cinnamon amount and grated the ginger instead of chopping it–I just can’t leave a recipe alone!–but I’m sure it’s also great as is. It really benefits by sitting for a day to allow the flavors to meld and develop. All I know is that my kids loved it, which always works for me!


I got this “butter warmer” pot from Sur la Table for Christmas and use it every single day. I needed something small and sturdy to warm the milk for my morning latte (I’m pretty anti-microwave.) It has pouring spouts on both sides–so no more dribbling milk all over the place when I’m pouring it into my cup. The store-brand pan is half the price of the All-Clad version and just as nice. You should pick one up!
(photo courtesy of Sur la Table)


Speaking of my morning latte, I’d like to introduce you to my Nespresso Pixie machine. I am in LOVE with this thing. It’s not actually that new, but I’ve never mentioned it on here before. Over the summer I had been researching super-expensive espresso machines and trying to rationalize investing $1000 in my daily caffeine fix (after all,we do have Italian citizenship, right..?) when I saw this sleek little thing at Williams-Sonoma. I always thought it was “cheating” to use coffee pods, but when I saw some of our relatives from Italy, they told me that everyone there uses them. Good enough for me–Nespresso Pixie, YOU COMPLETE ME!
(photo courtesy of Nespresso)

And finally, there’s my latest addiction–homemade almond milk! I have been making this at least twice a week and it’s so delish. I use the basic method found on Lovely Morning, but have made a few very minor changes. First off, 5 minutes seems a little long to blend the almonds–2-3  minutes has worked sufficiently for me. Also, you don’t have to add the sweetener separately–just add some agave or maple while you’re processing the almonds and water. Yummy.
(photo courtesy of Lovely Morning)

Leave a Reply

