Roasted Carrot Pizza with Black Olives and Feta

1 Apr

I know what you’re thinking–carrot pizza? Sounds like someone’s trying a little too hard to be creative, right? But the story behind this is that my three year-old son has been getting interested in what I’m cooking–and getting involved, too. He loves carrots and kept asking me to make him a carrot pizza. So this is what I came up with…I make pizza once a week. It’s such an easy dinner if you keep one-pound balls of dough in the freezer. We always mix up the toppings, and I’ve found that it’s a great medium for introducing different vegetables to my kids. To turn my son’s crazy request into something our whole family could enjoy, I thought of a few ingredients that go well with carrots and will also work on a pizza–black olives and feta cheese.

To do it, stretch dough on an oiled baking sheet. Make a quick tapenade in the food processor with about 1/2 cup of pitted nicoise olives, a garlic clove, thyme, and some olive oil, and spread it over the dough (I left the olives of half the pizza for my kids.) Thinly slice a bunch of baby carrots lengthwise and toss with a sliced garlic clove, fresh thyme, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Layer carrots over the olive spread and top with a few ounces of sliced mozzarella and some good feta. Drizzle with more olive oil and some black pepper, and bake on the bottom rack at 450 degrees for about 25 minutes. If you want to add something green, top the finished pizza with a handful of baby arugula.

Here’s the pizza just before it went into the oven. I used a combo of baby purple carrots and regular sliced carrots:

The finished pizza was surprisingly great. The combination of roasted carrots, black olives, feta, and arugula worked nicely together and would be good in a salad as well. My son’s reaction? “This is good carrot pizza, Mommy. You should make it again!”

4 Responses to “Roasted Carrot Pizza with Black Olives and Feta”

  1. emmycooks April 2, 2012 at 2:58 am #

    What a good idea! My kids also like roasted butternut squash on homemade pizza. And I love arugula on top of my pizzas, I have been forgetting to do that! Thanks for the reminder. :)

  2. veghotpot April 2, 2012 at 4:00 am #

    I love roasted carrots so putting carrot on a pizza sounds like a great idea in my books! Like the sound of the feta/ olive mix :)

  3. evoliveoilgreece April 2, 2012 at 4:53 am #

    nice.. thanks

  4. Daily Dose of Fresh April 2, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Awww you win the prize for best mom of the year for sure! It still looks pretty tasty to me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

